The Ten Commandments

EXODUS 20:1-21 | DEUTERONOMY 5:1-22

COMMANDMENT 1You shall have no other gods before me.

  • The first Hebrew letter is called Alef (The Ox), that which is first, most important, what gives strength, what will lead.
  • Jesus said the first and greatest commandment is to love the Lord your God. In every area He is to be the first and most important.
  • This Commandment declares who God is.

COMMANDMENT 2You shall not make for yourself an idol in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below.

  • The second Hebrew letter is called Bet (The House), meaning the second, a tent or a house, what is inside. “As for me and my house we will serve the Lord.” Joshua 24:15
  • Inside our house (heart) we are to have no other gods, false idols.
  • This Commandment instructs us to never turn to idols.

COMMANDMENT 3You shall not misuse the name of the LORD your God.

  • The third Hebrew letter is called Gimel (The Camel) meaning the third, the head of a camel, to lift up, to exalt.
  • We are commanded not to take His Name in vain, lightly or without honor.
  • This Commandment instructs us to exalt His Name, Authority (Matthew 10:1-10).

COMMANDMENT 4Observe the Sabbath day by keeping it holy, as the LORD your God has commanded you.

  • The fourth Hebrew letter is called Dalet (The Door) meaning a door, the path to travel. It is also symbol for rest (Isaiah 58; Hebrews 4:3).
  • This Commandment instructs us to walk through the door of His Covenant.

COMMANDMENT 5Honor your father and your mother, as the LORD your God has commanded you, so that you may live long and that it may go well with you in the land the LORD your God is giving you.

  • The fifth Hebrew letter is called Hey (Behold!) meaning what is revealed as a direction. We are to honor (open the inner door, a window) our parents. This is where the blessing for our life begins.
  • This Commandment instructs to honor our parents (any type of “parent,” physical or spiritual).

COMMANDMENT 6You shall not murder.

  • The sixth Hebrew letter is called Vav (Nail, a Hook) meaning to secure, establish, join together. Murder or hatred breaks the bond. Murder comes when there is a wicked value or bonded to lust.
  • This Commandment is an expression of God’s heart to value others above our pride, possessions and power.

COMMANDMENT 7You shall not commit adultery.

  • The seventh Hebrew letter is called Aayin (A Weapon) which symbolizes to cut or to separate. A weapon protects the family or destroys.
  • This Commandment instructs us to be people who cut the covenant, people of covenant word (Matthew 5:24).

COMMANDMENT 8You shall not steal.

  • The eight Hebrew letter is Chet (A Fence, an inner chamber). The Biblical view of a fence is to protect, security, a brother.
  • This Commandment is more than an instruction not to steal. We should protect people and their property. We must determine to be a wall of protection (Genesis 4:9, our brother’s keeper).

COMMANDMENT 9You shall not give false testimony against your neighbor.

  • The ninth Hebrew letter is Tet (To surround, a snake). This is a good image for a false accusation. It also reveals to be surrounded in protection or to be surrounded by lies, slander & false accusation.
  • This Commandment teaches us to surround ourselves with goodness, not hatred, deception (Ephesians 4:15, speak the truth).

COMMANDMENT 10You shall not covet…

  • The tenth Hebrew letter is Yood (A hand closed, to work) and means to make with your hands and enjoy the fruit of our hands. This is the opposite of lazy.
  • The last commandment brings us back to God and teaches us to both work with our hands and to trust in the God’s bountiful supply.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s